How to permanently delete items off your Syncplicity account storage
After an extended period of synchronizing data to their Syncplicity account storage, users often accumulate a large number of nonessential files that take up precious space for new projects or documents. Other times, they may inadvertently upload sensitive information. In such cases, the user will have to make sure they permanently delete that data from their allocated storage space.
People often think that a file is wiped off our servers as soon as they click 'Delete' on our Online File Browser. However, that is not the case. Syncplicity retains every deleted item for a certain period of time (30 days by default) after the deletion event. This is a 'safety net' of sorts in case the item was removed by mistake.
The following steps describe how to permanently delete data in Syncplicity:
- Navigate to the 'Files' tab on my.syncplicity.com.
- Locate and select the item you would like to delete.
- Click on 'delete' which is located in the task bar above the items list. Select 'Delete' again in the pop-up window.
- Activate the "show deleted items" button. (Note: you should be in the same folder where the item used to reside, otherwise you will not see it)
- Choose the deleted item (it should be grayed out).
- Choose the "permanently delete" option from the taskbar.
Please have a look at the screenshot attached below for a visual representation.
Please sign in to leave a comment.