Syncplicity Support

Follow

SyncDrive for Mac users

SyncDrive allows you to mark files and folders as favorites to ensure you can access even when you are offline. SyncDrive is part of Syncplicity version 5.3+ and is available on:

  • OSX 10.12
  • OSX 10.13
  • OSX 10.14

SyncDrive installs alongside the existing Syncplicity folders, which are not affected by the activation of the SyncDrive feature. Folders must be converted to SyncDrive to be visible to users in their SyncDrive on the desktop.

If your Syncplicity administrator has enabled dynamic loading, there might be a short delay before a synchronized folder or file opens. However, when enabled, the number of synchronized files in a folder can be almost unlimited. For best performance do not exceed 25,000 files and folders per folder level. For example, you can have up to 25,000 subfolders in a folder, and each subfolder can also have 25,000 files and folders. Dynamic loading was made available in Mac client 6.0.0.

Where can I find SyncDrive? 

SyncDrive is part of the regular Syncplicity desktop. If you are running version 5.3+ of the client, SyncDrive is part of the regular Syncplicity desktop. To open SyncDrive, click the Finder icon and select Syncplicity:

To stop synchronization or unmap a SyncDrive folder, right-click a folder and select Stop Synchronization. The following warning message is displayed:

Alternately, you can do this by clicking the Syncplicity tray icon and deselecting the folder.

Converting a folder to SyncDrive

You can convert any of the top-level folders you own to SyncDrive apart from your special folders (that is, Desktop, Documents, Favorites, Pictures and Music). Your company administrator or owners of folders shared with you might already have converted folders, in which case they appear in your SyncDrive.

To convert a folder to SyncDrive:

  1. Open My Syncplicity.
  2. In the navigation bar, click Files→ All files (if not already selected).
  3. Select a folder you own and click Settings.
  4. Select Allow access to this folder only in SyncDrive on the desktop and click Save.
    Conversion of a folder to SyncDrive unmaps the folder for existing participants who have mapped it locally. Any unsynced changes in participants' mapped folders are lost when the folder is converted to SyncDrive. You must go to SyncDrive to continue working in your files. Depending on the company policy for remote wipe, the previously mapped file remains on disk or is removed. Participants receive an email notifying them the access to the folder has been changed and now is available in SyncDrive.
  5. Select Yes to confirm the conversion of the folder to SyncDrive.
  6. Click YesCHANGE TO SYNCDRIVE.

The page displays a message when the folder's type was changed successfully.

Converting SyncDrive folder back to a normal folder

To convert the SyncDrive back to a normal folder, follow the preceding steps and deselect Allow access to this folder only in SyncDrive on the desktop.

Adding files and folder to favorites

SyncDrive favorites allow you to specify the files and folders to be in sync with Syncplicity and have available for offline use. You can mark a folder as a favorite, and all files and folders within it are available offline and remain in sync. You also can specify individual files as favorites.

The Storage tab on the Syncplicity Settings window shows the storage used by favorite files.

To add as favorite:

  1. Open Finder and navigate to SyncDrive path. The path displays the folders and files.
  2. Right-click on a folder or file and click Syncplicity > Add to favorites.

The files and folder are downloaded to your local hard disk, and the folder or file overlay icon changes to star sign.

Removing files and folders from favorites

To remove a folder or file as a favorite:

  1. Open Finder and navigate to SyncDrive path. The path displays the folders and files.
  2. Right-click on a folder or file and click Syncplicity > Remove from favorites.

Folder icon overlays

Syncplicity folder and file icons are described in the following table:

Folder icon

File icon

Description

The green check mark icon overlay indicates all files and folders are available locally in SyncDrive and synced with Syncplicity.

The blue cloud icon overlay indicates the file is in the Syncplicity cloud and not local or for folders that some or all the files and folders in that folder are in the Syncplicity cloud. These icon overlays are only applicable to SyncDrive and not to locally mapped Syncplicity folders.

The orange syncing icon overlay indicates the folder contains files that are syncing with Syncplicity.

Not applicable to files.

The green human icon overlay indicates the folder is a shared folder for which the current user is the owner.

Not applicable to folders.

The grey cross icon overlay indicates the file is offline and cannot be accessed until Syncplicity is back online.

Alternatively, the grey cross icon overlay indicates the file has been excluded from Syncplicity.

Folders do not show any icon overlays when offline or if they are excluded.

The star icon overlay indicates folder is added as a favorite. When a file or folder is removed from favorites the icons of the file or the entire folder's contents change to the cloud icon overlay as the local files are removed from local storage.

Managing your storage

With SyncDrive you have access to all your content without syncing it all to your desktop. SyncDrive provides a view of the storage you are consuming in Syncplicity and on your desktop.

From the My Syncplicity Storage Details screen you can select any of your available storage locations and view the storage totals for active files, old file version, deleted files and remaining available storage.

You can identify the local storage used by the regular Syncplicity folders, SyncDrive favorites and SyncDrive cache. The amount of free space available in your SyncDrive is shown, too. You can control how much disk space your SyncDrive cache can consume on your desktop.

You can clear the SyncDrive cache and favorites from the My Syncplicity Storage Details screen of the Syncplicity Settings. Clearing SyncDrive cache removes all recently used files from disk and frees up disk space.This does not remove any favorite files, which remain available when offline. Clearing SyncDrive favoritesremoves all favorite files and folders in SyncDrive; files that are cached but not favorites are not be affected. When files and folders are removed from favorites, the local copy is removed.

Creating, copying or moving folders into SyncDrive

Folders can be created, copied or moved into a SyncDrive folder or at the root of the SyncDrive folder.

Moving and renaming files and folders inside a SyncDrive folder

You can move or rename the files and folders inside SyncDrive folder; although, you cannot move or rename folders across top-level SyncDrive folders. Moving folders within a SyncDrive folder is permitted as long as the participation (sharing) of sub-folder shares is maintained.

Offline behavior

When Syncplicity is offline, SyncDrive provides offline access to your favorite files and recently used files. Files that are not favorites or cached locally are not be available until the connection to Syncplicity is re-established.

Known issues

  • Merging of folders in Finder due to rename of a folder to an already existing name or, moving a folder to destination that has the same name, leads to deletion of files from source directory.
  • The file overlay icon stays in a synchronizing state if a download fails. Opening the file again starts the download and refreshes the overlay icon.
  • Moving or renaming of a folder or file to a name that is already deleted fails.
  • Searching for a SyncDrive file returns no result in Finder.
  • Rarely, upgrading can fail. The workaround is to restart the client.
  • Scanning of SyncDrive content with any third party antivirus scan may not initiate the download of actual content.
  • Dynamic loading of files with folders containing 50,000 files or more takes additional time to display the content in Finder.
Powered by Zendesk