You can share folders with others. Sharing a folder can be divided into two tasks: sharing a folder with new users and managing the users of the shared folder.
You can share top-level and subfolders. However, you can only share subfolders that are not in a shared folder, and you cannot share a top-level folder that contains a shared folder.
Share a folder
Navigate to the folder to share and tap the contextual menu to open. Tap Share. This opens a screen for sending emails notifying recipients that a folder has been shared with them. If the share action is not in the menu, the folder cannot be shared. For example, it may contain a shared subfolder.
You can type any email address in the To field or tap the add icon to select one or more email addresses from the address book. The app also has the type-ahead capability to match users when you start typing in the To field.
You can enter any message for the shared users in the Message field. When you share a folder, an email goes to the recipients you entered along with the message.
If you are the owner of the folder or have editor rights, you can share the folder with other users who have editor or reader rights. If you are a reader, you can only re-share the folder with reader rights. Click on the Editor or Reader menu under Settings to switch between both.
If you are the owner of the folder, you can also select re-sharing rights. Click on "Only you can share this folder" to change the option an allow other participants to re-share. You can also select the option to receive a notification, if the folder is re-shared.
When done, tap the arrow icon in the top-right corner.
If you are the owner of a shared folder, you can remove any participant at any time or change the permission of any existing user from editor to reader or vice versa.
If you are an editor, you can only remove or change permissions of the users you have added to this folder. If you are a reader, you can share with others only as a reader and cannot change permissions. However, you can remove the users you have added.
To manage a shared folder, open the context menu and tap Share. The Manage screen lists the users who have access to the folder.
Tap the name of a user. The user’s rights are displayed. You can tap Remove User to stop sharing, except for the owner. If you have rights, you can change the permission, as well as allow or disallow sharing by that participant. To send an email to the user, tap the email icon at the top-right corner.
Folder sharing policies
For all accounts except Personal edition, your administrator can set policies that restrict folder sharing as follows:
- Folder sharing policy, which determines whether a top-level folder can be shared externally or not. If folder sharing is prohibited externally by the administrator, you can only share with users within your Syncplicity company account.
- External user folder re-sharing policy, which determines whether you can re-share a shared top-level folder at all, or only re-share the folder as an editor. If you do not have the permission to re-share a folder, you cannot share the folder or manage participants for that folder.