You can delete top-level folders and subfolders. However, deleting a top-level folder is different than deleting a subfolder. You can delete folders in two ways, from your Windows Explorer and also from the Syncplicity client.
Deleting top-level folders
Deleting a top-level synchronized folder from your Windows Explorer deletes it from your desktop however does not delete it from your Syncplicity account. Also, deleting a top-level synchronized folder from your Syncplicity account does not delete it from your desktop.
Deleting top-level folders from Windows Explorer:
- Navigate to the folders synchronized with Syncplicity on your Windows Explorer.
- Right-click on the folder name and select Delete from the menu.
- This will move the folder and all of the content into the Recycle Bin on your computer, which can be restored from the Recycle Bin but will no longer be synced with your Syncplicity account.
Note: The deleted folder will still remain on your Syncplicity account. You can always re-map the folder to your computer from the Syncplicity taskbar panel.
Deleting top-level folders from the Syncplicity client:
- Click the Syncplicity () icon in your taskbar.
- Click Manage in the Taskbar Panel.
- In the Manage folders window, click on the folder you wish to delete.
- Click the More Options button OR right-click on the folder then select Delete folder.
In the resulting message, you can select a checkbox to remove the folder in both locations. Otherwise, just the folder in your Syncplicity account is deleted.
- Click Yes to delete the folder.
If you did not select the checkbox for “remove the folder in both locations”, the folder will no longer be synchronized.
Note: If you are an owner of this deleted folder, deleting the folder from Syncplicity will also delete the folder for other users the folder has been shared with. If you are an editor or reader, there is no change for other shared on this folder.
If you delete a synchronized subfolder from Windows Explorer and you are either the owner or editor, the folder also gets deleted from your Syncplicity account. The deleted subfolder automatically gets placed in the Deleted Items on your Syncplicity account. It is always possible to look at these deleted sub-folders and restore them using MySyncplicity. Only the owner has the ability to permanently delete the folder from the Deleted Items.
If you are a reader, the subfolder is not deleted from the Syncplicity account; however, it is no longer synced with your Syncplicity account.
Note: If you are an owner or have editor privileges on this deleted folder, deleting the folder from Syncplicity will also delete the folder for other users the folder has been shared with.