Syncplicity Support

Follow

Syncing and unsyncing folders and files

From Windows Explorer, you can sync or stop syncing the content between your computer and your Syncplicity account. This allows you to share this content with others.

Synced folders and their contents are accessible from your other computers and devices using the Syncplicity clients. You can also access your synced folders from the My Syncplicity web site. For more information, see Understanding synchronizing and sharing folders.

Syncing folders from your computer

To sync a folder on your system, you must add it to your Syncplicity account:

  1. Open Windows Explorer and navigate to the folder.
  2. Right-click on the folder.
  3. Choose Syncplicity → Add to Syncplicity.

Syncplicity syncs the folder and overlays a Syncplicity logo on the folder icon to let you know it has been added to your Syncplicity account. All files within the folder are synced to the cloud and available online, except for those files whose type is excluded from syncing.Other computers that you use with the Syncplicity client will display a dialog box asking if you would like to sync the folder.

NOTE: Any trailing spaces in file or folder names are truncated. Also, you cannot upload files with file names that contain the following characters: \ / | : * " ? < >

Syncing a folder shared with you

When other users share a folder with you, Syncplicity allows you to choose to sync the folder in your Syncplicity account to your desktop. This window also displays when you create a folder in your Syncplicity account from another device. You are prompted to select one of the following options:
  • Sync Now: Syncs the files and folders within this Syncplicity folder to the location on your system that you have selected. You can select a different location using the Change
  • Sync Later: Keeps the folder in your account but will not be synced with your system.

 

NOTE: The Syncplicity client does not support syncing to mapped network drives, external storage devices, and removable storage devices. For more information, see About file synchronization on external drives.

You can also sync folders from the Manage Folders window, as described in Working with folders and files.

Stop syncing

To stop syncing a top level folder:

  1. Open Windows Explorer and navigate to the folder.
  2. Right-click on the folder.
  3. Choose Syncplicity → Stop synchronization. Your folder is no longer synced to your account, and the Syncplicity logo is removed from the folder icon. The folder remains on your local computer.

NOTE: You can also stop syncing folders using the Manage Folders window, as described in Working with folders and files.

Selective sync / Exclusions

To sync a folder but exclude some items within that folder from syncing, such as a file or a subfolder:

  1. Right-click on the file or folder.
  2. Choose Syncplicity → Exclude
  3. Choose to exclude this specific file or all files of that file type. Your file or folder is no longer synced to your account and the Syncplicity logo is removed from the file or folder icon.

You can also exclude subfolders using the "More options…" dropdown in the Manage Folders window, as described in Working with folders and files.

NOTE: The Syncplicity client does not support syncing mapped network drives, external storage devices, and removable storage devices. Should you attempt to sync a folder from an unsupported location, the app informs you and prevents the sync. For more information, see About file synchronization on external drives.

 
Powered by Zendesk