You can select the lock period from a drop-down list that contains values between 5 minutes and 2 hours. After the time is selected, if you need additional time, you can edit the lock duration. For example, if you have an active lock that will expire in 15 minutes, you can change the lock duration to, for example, 20 minutes. This will result in a new lock period of 20 minutes, instead of accumulating to 35. For details, see Change the lock duration.
The My Syncplicity online file browser (OFB) does not notify users when their lock is about to expire, and does not remove automatically the lock icon when the lock on a file expires. Refresh the Files page to view the latest lock status of files.
Files are unlocked when the lock duration expires. This can result in locking out the initial owner of the lock. Verify that you keep track of the lock period to avoid lock conflicts.
Depending on the lock duration (maximum of 2 hours), you cannot edit the file until the lock expires. In the following use cases file locks remain active:
- If you stop sharing a file or a folder, but another user has active locks on it.
- If you stop the synchronization of a folder in Syncplicity, but there are active locks in it.
- A lock owner is deleted from Syncplicity or moved to pending Off-Boarding state.