Syncplicity Support

Follow

SyncDrive for Windows users

Syncplicity SyncDrive for Windows enables access to your Syncplicity files and folders without leaving the Windows Explorer file system. This provides a good solution for when continuous access is needed, but their is not enough space to download all of the contents to your hard drive or virtual desktop. When you open a file in a SyncDrive folder the full content streams to your computer and remains in cache for a period of time. SyncDrive also allows you to specify files and folders as favorites to ensure access when offline.

If dynamic loading is enabled by your Syncplicity administrator, there may be a short delay before a synchronized folder or file opens. However, when enabled, the number of synchronized files in a folder can be almost unlimited. For best performance do not exceed 25,000 files and folders per folder level. For example, you can have up to 25,000 subfolders in a folder, and each subfolder can also have 25,000 files and folders. Dynamic loading became available with Windows client 6.0.0.

SyncDrive is part of Syncplicity Windows client 5.1 and later. It is supported on Windows 7 (64-bit), Windows 8.1 (64-bit) and Windows 10 (64-bit).

Where to find SyncDrive

SyncDrive adds a network drive named Syncplicity on your computer that defaults to the S: drive. If in use, the next available drive letter is used. Existing folders are not affected by the activation of SyncDrive, and are available as shortcuts from within the Syncplicity Drive.

Stop synchronization

To stop synchronization or unmap a SyncDrive folder, right-click a folder and select Syncplicity → Stop Synchronization. Alternately, you can do this from the Manage Folders window that is accessed with the Syncplicity taskbar.

Convert a folder to SyncDrive

Use the following steps to convert any top-level folders you own to SyncDrive, apart from your special Windows folders, such as Desktop, Documents, Favorites, Pictures and Music:

NOTE: Your company administrator, or Owners of folders shared with you, may already have converted folders. In this case, they are already displayed in your SyncDrive. 

  1. Go to my.syncplicity.com and log on with your Syncplicity credentials.
  2. Click Files in the page header. Click All Files (if not already selected).
  3. Scroll to a folder that you own and click Settings in the toolbar above the folder rows.
  4. Enable Allow SyncDrive access from desktop →  Save.
  5. On the confirmation popup, select Yes → Yes, change to SyncDrive.

Conversion of a folder to SyncDrive unmaps the folder for existing participants who have previously mapped it locally. Any unsynced changes in participants' mapped folders are lost when the folder is converted to SyncDrive. Users must go to SyncDrive to continue working with their files. Depending on the company policy for remote wipe, the previously mapped file remains on disk or is removed. Participants receive an email notifying that access to the folder has been changed and is now be available in SyncDrive.

Convert SyncDrive folder back to a normal folder

To convert the SyncDrive folder back to a normal folder, use the following steps and disable Allow SyncDrive access from desktop.

Add favorites

SyncDrive enables you to specify a single file as a favorite or a folder and all its files.. Synchronized files and folders marked as favorites are available for offline use..

To add a favorite:

  1. From Windows Explorer, select your SyncDrive (default is the S: drive).
  2. Select a folder or file, right-click, and select Syncplicity → Add to favorites. The folder or file and is downloaded to your local hard drive, and the folder or file overlay icon changes to a star symbol.

Remove favorites

To remove a folder or file as a favorite:

  1. From Windows Explorer, select your SyncDrive (default is the S: drive).
  2. Select a folder or file, right-click, and select Syncplicity → Remove from favorites. When the file or folder is removed from favorites the icons of the file or the entire folder's contents change to the cloud icon overlay as the local files are removed from local storage.

Folder icon overlays

The following tables describes Syncplicity's five icon overlays that are used to visually indicate which folders and files are synchronized:

Folder icon

File icon

  Description

 

Green check mark: All files and folders within the folder are available locally in SyncDrive and synced with Syncplicity.

 

Blue cloud: The file is in the Syncplicity cloud and not local. For folders, some or all of the files and folders in that folder are in the Syncplicity cloud. These icon overlays are only applicable to SyncDrive and not to locally mapped Syncplicity folders.

 

 

Orange syncing: The folder contains files that are currently syncing with Syncplicity.

Not applicable to files.

 

Green human: The folder is a shared folder for which the current user is the owner.

Not applicable to folders.

 

Grey cross: The file is offline and cannot be accessed until Syncplicity is back online. Alternatively, it indicates the file has been excluded from Syncplicity. Folders will not show any icon overlays when they are offline or excluded.

 

 

Star icon: The folder is added as a favorite. When a file or folder is removed from favorites the icons of the file or the entire folder's contents change to the cloud icon overlay as the local files are removed from local storage.

View and manage storage

Use the Storage tab on the Syncplicity taskbar to identify how much Syncplicity storage is used on your computer. From the Syncplicity taskbar, select Settings → Storage.

The Syncplicity Storage section displays the used and available cloud storage and your storage quota. 

The Local Storage section bar is segmented to show storage for Syncplicity folders, SyncDrive favorites, SyncDrive cached files, and SyncDrive free space. 

  • Click Clear SyncDrive cache to remove all recently used files from disk and free up space. This does not remove any favorites, which remain available when offline.
  • Click Clear SyncDrive favorites to all favorite files and folders in SyncDrive. Files that are cached, but not favorites, are not affected. When files and folders are removed from favorites the local copy is removed.

Create, copy or move folders to SyncDrive

You can create, copy, or move folders to a SyncDrive folder. However, you cannot create, copy or, move a folder to the root of SyncDrive.

Move and rename files and folders in a SyncDrive folder

You can move or rename the files and folders within a SyncDrive folder, but you cannot move or rename folders across top-level SyncDrive folders. Moving folders within a SyncDrive folder is permitted if the participation (sharing) of subfolder shares is maintained. Keep in mind you may have several shared subfolders. See Rename SyncDrive files and folders for details.

Delete a root folder

You can delete a SyncDrive root folder using on of the following options:

  • From Windows Explorer, select your SyncDrive (typically the S: drive). Select a folder, right-click and select Syncplicity → Delete folder
    This option became available in Windows client 6.0.0.
  • On the Manage Folders window, accessed via the Syncplicity taskbar, select a folder, right-click and select Delete folder. This option became available in Windows client 6.0.0.
  • When logged on to your my.syncplicity.com account in a browser, select a folder, right-click and select Delete.

Offline behavior

When Syncplicity is offline, SyncDrive provides offline access to your favorite files and recently used files. Files that are not favorites or cached locally are not available until the connection to Syncplicity is restored.

Known issues

  • In an Edge browser, if a user redirects their download folder to SyncDrive, they must change the previous default download path manually to the Syncplicity download folder.
  • Merging of folders in Windows Explorer, due to the rename of a folder of an already existing name or moving a folder to destination that has the same name, leads to the deletion of files from the source directory.
  • File overlay icons stay in a synchronizing state if the download fails. Opening the file again starts the download and refreshes the overlay icon.
  • File thumbnails are disabled for all network drives.
  • Any installers that require elevated privileges to execute cannot be executed from SyncDrive. You must copy the installation file to a local drive and launch the installer.
  • SyncDrive is not compatible with ESET antivirus. Anti-virus programs that scan SyncDrive may result in all files being synchronized to your computer.
  • If you move or rename a folder or file to a name that is already deleted a failure will occur.
Powered by Zendesk